What types of ELISA assays may you use?

Four kinds of ELISA here are here illustrated as you may concern:

Direct ELISA

(1) Direct ELISAs involve attachment of the antigen to the solid phase, followed by an enzyme-labeled antibody. This type of assay generally makes measurement of crude samples difficult, since contaminating proteins compete for plastic binding sites.

Indirect ELISA

(2) Indirect ELISAs also involve attachment of the antigen to a solid phase, but in this case, the primary antibody is not labeled. An enzyme-conjugated secondary antibody, directed at the first antibody, is then added. This format is used most often to detect specific antibodies in sera.

Competitive ELISA

(3) The third type of ELISA is the Competition Assay, which involves the simultaneous addition of 'competing' antibodies or proteins. The decrease in signal of samples where the second antibody or protein is added gives a highly specific result.

Sandwich ELISA

(4) The last type of assay is the sandwich ELISA. Sandwich ELISAs involve attachment of a capture antibody to a solid phase support. Samples containing known or unknown antigen are then added in a matrix or buffer that will minimize attachment to the solid phase. An enzyme-labeled antibody is then added for detection.

The ELISA method is a benchmark for quantitation of pathological antigens and there are indeed many variations to this method. ELISAs are adaptable to high-throughput screening because results are rapid, consistent and relatively easy to analyze. The best results have been obtained with the sandwich format, utilizing highly purified, prematched capture and detector antibodies. The resulting signal provides data which is very sensitive and highly specific.